In The News

Triplett Named Democratic Municipal Official Of The Year

Posted On by


East Lansing Mayor Nathan Triplett named the Democratic Municipal Official of the Year 2014 at Democratic Municipal Officials’ National Breakfast Meeting

Austin, TX, November 21, 2014 –

East Lansing Mayor Nathan Triplett received the 2014 Democratic Municipal Official of the Year award at Democratic Municipal Officials’ (DMO) National Breakfast Meeting this Friday. Having been featured in the organization’s DMO of the Month series for the month of March, Triplett was nominated for the award alongside ten other municipal Democratic mayors and council members. He received the highest number of votes from the general membership, winning the title of DMO of the Year 2014.

Held during the National League of Cities (NLC) Congress of Cities and Exposition conference in Austin, Texas, the DMO National Breakfast is a semiannual meeting of Democratic Municipal Officials, the Democratic National Committee (DNC) constituency Association for Democratic mayors, council members, and other local elected officials. Triplett is chair of the organization’s Michigan State Chapter. Triplett was joined on stage by DMO Chair of the Council of State Chapters, Cathedral City, CA Council Member Greg Pettis, and DMO Chair of the Policy Council, Winston-Salem, NC Council Member Dan Besse. Pettis was previously named DMO of the Year 2012.

Democratic Municipal Officials (DMO) is the DNC Association for locally elected officials who personally identify as members of the Democratic Party. DMO has over 6000 members across the United States, and advocates for local Democratic officeholders and acts to move their priorities nationwide.

This November’s National Breakfast also featured the Honorable Julián Castro, who delivered the keynote Democratic Address. Newark City Council President Mildred Crump received the Susan Burgess Award, and Mayors William Peduto (Pittsburgh) and AC Wharton (Memphis) joined a panel discussion about governing Democratic cities in states with Republican State Legislatures, hosted by MSNBC Political Analyst Robert Traynham. David Kolbe of the Iron Workers presented the ‘Helmets to Hardhats’ program, and Comcast Executive Vice President David L. Cohen received an Outstanding Contribution